top of page

Saturday 6/22/2024

Updated: 6 days ago

Hi All,

It's been another long week, although it really did just fly by!


The week (Father's day) started off kind of quiet. I did get to spoil me and Julie a little bit by cooking a steak on the grill. I hope all dads were able to do the same thing or at least something fun and relaxing.

Monday I took our son Jake to the doctor, he has a hernia that needs to get fixed. Tuesday wasn't too bad, Julie and I went to see Gladys our Acupuncturist for treatment and then I was able to go grocery shopping. But....... Tuesday Julie started to complain about pain and was coughing a lot again. So thinking this wasn't an emergency I sent a message to the Doctor. Well... Wednesday came along and I was supposed to go to the hospital and pick up the CT disk from Julie's last hospital visit and send it off to the Burzynski Clinic. I did take a ride to the hospital and did pick up the disk (it was a beautiful morning).

I came home and Julie was feeling worse... so now I start to freak out... no message back from the doctor... I called the doctors office... sorry doctor and staff are all busy... so I get in my car and drive over to urgent care... maybe they can do some blood work to see if her hemoglobin dropped again "sorry no appointments available for blood draw" so I drive to another urgent care "sorry we don't do blood draws" you can see I'm trying not to go to the hospital. So I come back home and Julie's still on the couch. We are contemplating what to do??? Finally one of the nurses calls me... we discussed Julie's situation and it's back to the hospital. (I have to give a positive plug to Meriter Hospital, the doctors, nurses and staff are really wonderful!) But we still do not like to go! Sorry!


So... Julie ended up getting the fluid drained from her abdomen (not as much this time) but still enough to do the drain. She also received 1 pint of blood. (I say they take so much out of her for testing they should give her extra :) . Julie was able to come home Thursday afternoon and then we just molded into the couch and went to bed early. We did meet a very nice pulmonologist who did Julie's fluid drain and we have a follow up with him July 1st. He said if the fluid keeps building up he can do the drain as a out patient and if it keeps building up he could put a temporary tube in her and I can do the drain. We are still waiting to hear something from a hematologist about IV iron supplements or blood as an outpatient .


Julie did have some visitors when we got home, Judy across the street came over and brought us a custard dish (it was delish) and Emily our neighbor brought her kids by for a visit with hands full of flowers and drawings and cards.


Julie and I would like to thank everyone for their ongoing thoughts and prayers. I know Julie and I are trying to be strong through all of this, and I know everyone doesn't want to bother us. But the texts, calls and little visits definitely helps. They may be hard for everyone at the present time (including us)

But in the long run, all we can hope and pray for is that everything will be alright :)


We are still praying for Di, Barry, Michael, Adrian and have added Craig to our prayer list... and we just added Kate who had her appendix out yesterday! We also keep praying for everyone who is suffering from any and all illnesses.


So... Love and prayers to all.

Have a great weekend! Looks like a rain day in Wisconsin!

Take care... see you soon,

Joe and Julie

2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Friday June 7th 9pm.

Yes, I am still awake ...... don't know how ,,, probably cause Jake stopped by for a piece of pizza. But i'm kicking him out as soon as I'm done writing this post! Julie is home!!!!! and so glad to be

Thursday 6/6/24

Hi All, Happy Thursday! Julie has been in the hospital for the last 2 days. When we arrived she had a fever so they did some tests and decided she needed an antibiotic instead of more blood. That is g

Julie Cielinski's

Cancer Story

Get updated when a new blog posts

Thanks for submitting!

Contact information 

private at this time 

© 2035 by Tammy Gallaway. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page